Hello from the Women’s Center

My name is Lauren Jones Mayfield, and I began working as the part-time Director here at the Women’s Center earlier this month. Jumping in with both feet is an understatement. I’m drenched (in a good way!) with calendaring, filing, writing, development, and mostly learning how to navigate a new position. I love all of it but am most excited about welcoming students back to campus in September. I invite you to bookmark or follow this blog as it will (re)grow into a main avenue by which we share opportunities to advocate for and celebrate the accomplishments of women, host discussions about current political events that affect women, and hear from guest bloggers as they share bits of their own narratives as well as commitments that will serve to inspire and educate us.

The outgoing director, Heather Thiessen’s amazing mind and spirit, and her work at the Center have paved the way for a myriad of women–from working professionals to budding students–to embrace more fully the gift of womanhood. She models from her core the dignity and respect that you read in her writings here on the blog, that you witnessed in her leadership on campus, and that you experienced through personal relationship with her. So for these reasons, among countless others, we will celebrate Heather and her ministry through the Women’s Center. Plan to join us for a party in a few weeks!

“Who am I,” you ask? Having hopped around the country for the last decade with my husband for various educational endeavors, we have recently landed with our three kids here in Louisville, KY to work at Louisville Seminary. I grew up in Northern Kentucky, so it does feel a bit like returning home…for better or worse, right? In regards to the Women’s Center and working at Louisville Seminary, it is absolutely better! I will be ordained in the United Church of Christ within the next few months, and I look forward to the ways this will expand opportunities for ministry. The intersection of justice (not only for women, but all of God’s disenfranchised children), pastoral care, worship, beauty/art, and politics ignites an intensity within me that propels so much of my work and identity as an activist, mother, wife, minister and friend. When I’m not doing any of the aforementioned, I enjoy running, drinking delicious wine, and I often (and too quickly) find myself addicted to another superfluous, melodrama tv show thanks to netflix…Weeds or Downton Abbey anyone?
My kiddos
Tyler and me at LPTS Commencement 2013

I look forward to sharing this space with you!

This entry was posted in Points of Information, Various Other Things by Ha_Qohelet. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ha_Qohelet

Ha_Qohelet is a transliteration of Hebrew definite article plus a feminine participle, all together meaning "the (feminine) one who assembles" or who calls together. Qohelet is the title of one of the books of the Hebrew Scripture, known in English as Ecclesiastes. The Women's Center at LPTS feels the epithet of Qohelet is a fitting one for what we do and are. The Women's Center is, indeed, a caller-together, a caller-to-wisdom, and an assembler -- of people, of ideas, of actions, and ultimately, we hope, of transformations in the world. In this context, Ha_Qohelet is the Director of the Women's Center, and Editor-in-Chief of Wimminwise.

Leave a Reply

