Introducing The New LPTS Women’s Center Student Coordinator Beth Ruhl

New Student Coordinator Beth Ruhl

New Student Coordinator Beth Ruhl

Hello everyone!  My name is Beth Ruhl, and I am the new Student Coordinator for the LPTS Women’s Center.  I recently moved to Louisville from Lawrence, Kansas, and I am passionate about women’s issues and women’s rights.  I just graduated from the University of Kansas with my MA in French Literature, and I am fluent in French.  I have lived in France several times, and I enjoy intercultural exchange.  I chose to pursue theological studies because I want to help people in a direct way while I am still young.  During my undergraduate career I was very active at the Ecumenical Campus Ministries at KU where I started a feminist book club, organized for events such as Take Back The Night and led undergraduates on Alternative Spring Breaks to Ghost Ranch in New Mexico.  I was also on the National Coordinating Committee for the National Network of Presbyterian College Women where I helped to organize leadership events for young women.

I’m very excited about the work that the Women’s Center is already doing, and I hope to act as a resource for students and community members.  My goal is to provide people of all backgrounds with the opportunity to learn more about women’s issues in the world today.  I value anti-oppression work very highly, and I’m interested in how the lenses of race, class and gender affect who we are and how we experience others.  I was raised in a theologically conservative background and have since found my way to a more progressive way of viewing theology.  However, being raised in a conservative background has given me the tools and appreciation to speak with people at all places on the theological spectrum, which I enjoy doing very much.  I would invite all of you to introduce yourselves to me, and I would love to have coffee and talk with you if you have questions around women’s issues or if you see a need that isn’t being addressed on campus or in the community.

One of my favorite authors is Bell Hooks, and I would like to start a book club using Feminism Is for Everyone sometime during the fall semester.   I am also interested in starting a human sexuality series during my time at the Women’s Center, so please contact me if you would be interested in helping with that.  I would envisage such a series to be a safe space where people could ask their deepest questions regarding intimacy and human sexuality, and I’m looking for input around set up and topics.

I look forward to working with and meeting all of you!  My e-mail is Bethany.ruhl@my.lpts.edu .  Please don’t hesitate to contact me!

Beth Ruhl protesting the War on Iraq during her undergraduate years.

This entry was posted in Various Other Things by Ha_Qohelet. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ha_Qohelet

Ha_Qohelet is a transliteration of Hebrew definite article plus a feminine participle, all together meaning "the (feminine) one who assembles" or who calls together. Qohelet is the title of one of the books of the Hebrew Scripture, known in English as Ecclesiastes. The Women's Center at LPTS feels the epithet of Qohelet is a fitting one for what we do and are. The Women's Center is, indeed, a caller-together, a caller-to-wisdom, and an assembler -- of people, of ideas, of actions, and ultimately, we hope, of transformations in the world. In this context, Ha_Qohelet is the Director of the Women's Center, and Editor-in-Chief of Wimminwise.

Leave a Reply

